California Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) Coalition awarded the Community Cares Award to 164 schools from the West End and East Valley regions of San Bernardino County. The award recognizes recipients for hard work and dedication to promote positive school culture during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The annual award is part of the California PBIS statewide recognition system that acknowledges schools for implementing PBIS with fidelity to the national framework. This year, the award was modified to the Community Cares Award, which recognizes efforts made to maintain a positive school culture and climate during the COVID-19 school closure.

County Superintendent Ted Alejandre honored the award-winning schools and programs at a virtual event held on Nov. 12.

“These recipients went above and beyond to ensure that students and families were supported and engaged during the COVID-19 pandemic. Students and staff have demonstrated tremendous resiliency and dedication to promote positive school culture within a virtual environment,” said Alejandre. The award winners represent 14 districts in the West End and East Valley regions.

Below are some of the recipients by district and school:

Redlands: Citrus Valley High; Franklin Elementary; McKinley Elementary.

Rialto: Bemis Elementary; Ben F. Kolb Middle; Dr. Edward Fitzgerald Elementary; Dr. John H. Milor High; Eisenhower Senior High; Elizabeth T. Hughbanks Elementary; George H. Dunn Elementary; Georgia Morris Elementary; Henry Elementary; J.C. Boyd Elementary; J.P. Kelley Elementary; Jehue Middle; Kucera Middle; Lena M. Preston Elementary; Merle Casey Elementary; Morgan Elementary; Myers Elementary; Nancy R. Kordyak Elementary; Rialto High; Rialto Middle; Rialto Unified School District-Early Education; Sam V. Curtis Elementary; Samuel W. Simpson Elementary; Trapp Elementary; Warren H. Frisbie High; Werner Elementary; Dr. Edward Fitzgerald SDC Preschool.

San Bernardino City: Arrowview Middle; Arroyo Valley High; Belvedere Elementary; Bing Wong Elementary; Bradley Elementary; Cajon High; Cole Elementary; Curtis Middle; Davidson Elementary; Del Rosa Elementary; Fairfax Elementary; George Brown Elementary; Golden Valley Middle; Hillside University Demonstration; Indian Springs High; Juanita Blakeley Jones Elementary; Kendall Elementary; Lankershim Elementary; Lincoln Elementary; Martin Luther King Middle; Monterey Elementary; North Verdemont Elementary; Paakuma’ K8 School; Pacific High; Parkside Elementary; Ramona-Alessandro Elementary; Riley Elementary; Roger Anton Elementary; San Andreas High; San Bernardino High; San Gorgonio High; Serrano Middle; Sierra High; Urbita Elementary; Warm Springs Elementary; Wilson Elementary.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.