The vote on Highland’s Harmony master-planned community will probably dominate the election here and could influence the two City Council races on the ballot.

Gilda Gularte, a leader of the campaign against the Harmony, has announced she plans to run for the District 4 seat now held by 26-year council veteran John P. Timmer.

District 4 is between State Route 210 on the west, Church Street on the east, Highland Avenue on the north and the city’s southern border.

Timmer said he does plan to seek re-election. He's on vacation and hasn't pulled his papers yet.

Timmer, a 71-year-old, 6-foot-7 retired fire battalion chief, has served as Highland’s mayor five times.

In the Nov. 6, 2016, election, he won with a plurality of nearly 45 percent, defeating Frank Adomitis and Christy Marin.   

Also on the ballot is Anaeli Solano’s District 2, which is between Olive Street on the east, McKinley Street on the west, Highland Avenue on the north and Fifth Street on the south.

Solano wasn’t on the council when Harmony was approved in August 2016, but during that campaign that fall she joined other challengers in the district election in supporting Harmony, according to Highland Community News archives. All agreed the approval process was sloppy.

Solano defeated Tony Collins Cifuentes, president of the Highlanders Boxing Club, with 59 percent of the vote.

Candidate filing for the Nov. 6 election opened Monday and will close on Friday, Aug. 10, according to the registrar of voters.

If an incumbent decides not to run again, the deadline to file is extended a week.

School districts

The November 2018 elections will serve as the first of the Redlands Unified School District board of education since it switched from at-large to by-trustee area voting in 2016.

Two areas are up for election with Patty Holohan running for re-election in Area 1 in south Redlands and no candidate yet announced for Area 2 in north Redlands.

Longtime board member Donna West, who lives in Area 5, was last elected at-large in 2014 and will lose her seat at the end of her term as board President Jim O’Neill lives in the same area and was elected more recently in November 2016.

Since Highland falls in Areas 3 and 4 Highland residents will not vote in this year’s board of education elections.

Board members Cristina Puraci and Alex Vara, elected at-large in 2016, are Highland residents.

San Bernardino City Unified School District, which serves Highland west of Boulder Avenue, has no seat up for election this year.

Three seats will be on the ballot for the San Bernardino Office of Education board: Mark Sumpter in Trustee Area A in the High Desert, Sherman R. Garnett in Trustee Area B in the Ontario-Montclair area and Hardy Brown II in Trustee Area D, which includes San Bernardino City Unified, Rialto and Snowline Joint Unified school districts.

Two seats are up for election in the San Bernardino Community College District.

In Trustee Area 4, the Redlands area, incumbent Donald L. Singer may have a challenger. Sam Irwin has taken out papers. Trustee Area 6, covering Yucaipa and Big Bear Valley, is represented by Donna Ferracone, who had not taken out papers as of Tuesday. A challenger, James Holbrook, has already turned in his papers.

Water districts

Three seats will be up on the San Bernardino Valley Municipal Water District — board President Susan Lein Longville, Vice President Mark Bulot and Secretary Steve Copelan.

Longville, who has been on the board since 2014, represents Division III in San Bernardino north of Highland Avenue.

Bulot, who has served since 1999, represents Division V, which covers Highland, Mentone and Yucaipa.

Copelan, who also has been on the board since 1999, represents Division IV, covering Redlands, Loma Linda and Grand Terrace.

The East Valley Water District, which continues to elect its directors at large, has three seats open — Ronald L. Coats, James L. Morales Jr., who both have served since 2013, and Phillip R. Goodrich, who was appointed in February.

Directors normally serve a four-year term, but the terms of Coats and Morales were extended a year to comply with the California Voter Participation Rights Act of 2015.

The act aims to increase turnout by moving elections to even-numbered years, which tend to draw higher voter interest.

Three seats will be on the ballot for the San Bernardino Valley Water Conservation District — David E. Raley, John Longville and Melody Henriques-McDonald.

Raley represents Division 2, which covers Redlands.

Longville — a former Assemblyman and the husband of Valley District Director Susan Longville — is in Division 4, which reaches into parts of west Highland at Palm Avenue and Cypress Street.

He has been on the board since 2007.

Henriques-McDonald, who has served since 2007, represents Division 5, part of which straddles SR-210 south to Fifth Street/Greenspot Road.

The terms of all three directors also were extended to comply with the Voter Participation Rights Act. General Manager Daniel Cozad said none was challenged in the last election, which is common for this district.

Partisan offices

Highland voters also will help make the final choices for the 40th Assembly District and the 8th Congressional District.

County Supervisor James Ramos, a Democrat, will face San Bernardino City Councilman Henry Nickel, a Republican, in the race for the Assembly seat being vacated by Marc Steinorth.

Nickel got 29,550 votes (45.73 percent of the votes) to Ramos’ 26,297 (40.69 percent).

Another Democrat, Libbern Gwen Cook of Redlands, got 8,777 votes (13.58 percent), according to the San Bernardino County registrar of voters.

The 8th Congressional District will be a rare Republican vs. Republican contest. Tim Donnelly, a Twin Peaks resident who served in the California Assembly, will challenge incumbent Rep. Paul Cook of Apple Valley. Cook has represented the district since 2012.

In a six-candidate primary, Cook received 44,482 votes (40.8 percent of the votes) to Donnelly’s 24,933 (22.8 percent), according to the California secretary of state’s office.

The district covers eastern San Bernardino County and parts of Inyo and Mono counties.

California Secretary of State Alex Padilla certified the results of the June 5 primary on Friday, July 13.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.