The Redlands teachers who were nominated for San Bernardino County Teacher of the Year, from left, Rebecca Shields, Carly Sapp, Camille Dahnke, Joshua Murguia, Christine Bender, Alan Aceto and Jana Bailey.

The Redlands Unified School District has three of its own competing for the San Bernardino County Teacher of the Year award.

Judson & Brown kindergarten teacher Camille Dahnke, Cope AVID teacher Alan Aceto and Redlands East Valley AVID teacher Jana Bailey are all moving forward in the countywide race.

During the Tuesday, Aug. 13, school board meeting, the three were honored as well as the four other teachers who had been nominated.

Arroyo Verde Elementary’s Christine Bender, Franklin Elementary’s Rebecca Shields, Mariposa Elementary’s Carly Sapp and Redlands High School’s Joshua Murguia were presented with plaques to honor their nominations, although not moving forward in the race.

Superintendent Mauricio Arellano praised the group of educators.

“These are seven outstanding teachers and human beings.”

Arellano informed the audience that teachers in San Bernardino County were nominated by their districts and then voted on by a county panel.

The board room was filled with the teachers’ family and friends showing their support. REV Principal Robert Clarey was there to support Bailey. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.