SoCal Roadrunners

The 2019 Southern California Roadrunners track team.

The Southern California Roadrunners raced at the West Coast Classic hosted by the Pacific Coast Shockwaves at Cerritos College June 1-2 and performed well as the team prepares for Junior Olympic competition and the Youth National championships at the end of the month in Durham, North Carolina.

The teams race-walkers performed well as most achieved personal bests. Irvin Montes won the 9-10 boys 1500 meter racewalk with Ryan Bravo placing second. Ahris Mayorga won the 11-12 boys division with a personal record (PR) of 7:31.40 . Joel Mendoza was second and Prince Watkins was 3rd. Skye Hanes walked a persona best of 9:39.80 for 2nd in the 11-12 girls division. Dhannasshy Sanchez was third in the 13-14 girls 3000 meter racewalk with a PR of 18:50.

The boys 13-14 distance squad won all the distance events against stellar competition. Edgar Haro won the 13-14 3000 meter run with 9:33.04 and Ethan Romero 2nd with 9:48.22. Vincente Quiroz was 8th overall with 10:14.82. Niko Guitierrez was 13th and Aidan Sturtevant was 14th overall. Juan Montes won the boys 1500 meter with a PR of 4:19.10. Edgar Haro was third in 4a;25.43 , Ethan Romero was 7th in 4;30.02 and Vincente Quiroz broke 4:40 with 4:38.15. Niko Guitierrez and Chris Ontiveros ran PRs in the same event.

Gabriella Romero has a good weekend breaking some time barriers running 10:57.17 in the girls 13-14 3000 meter run and 5:07. Hannah Butterfield ran 2 personal bests in the 11-12 1500 meter run with 2nd place with 5:03.04 and 11:20.42 for 7th. Katie Hornung ran a PR of 11:13.81 for 4th in the 11-12 girls 3000 meter run. Allura Markow placed 3rd in the 13-14 girls 1500 meter run with a season best of 4:51.52.

Paradise Watkins placed 2nd in the 7-8 girls shot put with a personal best of 4.08 meters. Natalie Gonzalez ran a PR of 5:45.08 for 8th to qualify for the Junior Olympic association meet this weekend and Vanessa Perez knocked off 30 seconds to qualify joining Abreille Ontiveros, Selah Markow and Isabelle Castenada in next week's meet.

Gavin Hanes won the 15-16 boys pole vault with 3.96 meters.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.